got me an idee-er

Partially in response to reading Johnson-Eilola’s Datacloud for JP’s seminar (followed this week by Rice’s Rhetoric of Cool), and partially in response to leafing through a book whose title and author escape me at the moment (for a project in RM’s seminar), I’ve been toying with the idea for a piece called “New Media Composition in the Corporate University: An Historical and Polemical Essay.”  The central question of said piece is to bring together threads of thought about the contemporary, post-Fordist corporations and modes of work with ideas about the appropriate forms of New Media work in the comp classroom.  I’m sure someone’s beat me to it, though–the idea’s just been stirring in my head for the last day or so.  The title, as some of you will doubtlessly recognize, alludes to Crowley’s Composition in the University.

I’m open, as always, for possible sources for such a project is anyone’s got any.

2 Responses to “got me an idee-er”

  1. Derek Says:

    Sounds interesting, Mike. I wonder whether it would help to think about Fordism from the vantage point of “process.” Kent’s _Post-Process Theory_ establishes that post-process embraces writing as public, *writing as interpretive/hermeneutic*, and writing as situated. By grounding some of this in a process/post-process framework, you could–perhaps–get at the problem for new media in the corporate university, which, among other things, is that invention remains hermeneutic (by default?). As I say this, I’m thinking specifically about the second chapter of Collin Brooke’s forthcoming book, Lingua Fracta. He writes about invention using terms from Barthes’ S/Z to differentiate hermeneutic invention from proairetic invention. Maybe this isn’t helpful at all, but I think it would be promising to complicate post-Fordism/post-process (if these two can be connected up; I don’t know) with the idea of proairetic invention. Of course, this might make the essay something more like “An Historical and Heuretical Essay.” ;)

    I’m sure Collin would send you a PDF of that chapter if you want to follow up on any of this. And like I said, I don’t know whether any of it is generative. This is just some of what came to mind as I read about your idee-er.

  2. mike Says:

    D,

    Interesting response. I haven’t yet started Kent, but as you may recall, I’ve been wanting to get into post-process stuff for a while, so it might behoove me to start looking at it in the terms suggested way. Even if we accept the “writing process” as a metaphor, it is still a metaphor that seems driven by a Fordist logic: breaking the task down into individual units, proceed linearly, etc. The post-process work you describe here seems like it make much more sense to think about as an extrapolation of post-Fordist logic.

    Thanks for the tip.


Leave a Reply

