talkin’ edward p.j. corbett dissertation blues

Apologies to Dylan for the bastardization of the title.

I’m waiting for feedback on the first finished draft of the MA from my advisors.  As I’m waiting, I asked a fellow grad (and new GTA, congrats!) to take a look, since he and I have some similar interests but also enough differing views that I was interested to see what he might make of it.

Actually, that paragraph isn’t really necessary, ‘cos this isn’t about his response so much as it is something I wrote to him in  response to a particular comment he made about the draft (a suggested revision he was right about, btw).

I mentioned to him that (in addition to the several other ideas I’ve mentioned before), one thing I might be keen to do for a diss to look at the way the categories of “rhetoric,” “resistance,” “social change,” “protest” et cetera  might be challenged by recent developments in critical theory.  I had explained that had I read Hardt/Negri’s Empire, Virno’s Grammar of the Multitude, and some of the interviews in Critical Intellectuals on Writing before beginning, my MA would likely be a very different beast.  Still focused on the bed-ins, but with a different spin on them entirely.  (I am heartened, though, by seeing that much of what I build to in the current draft is largely anticipated by these works, so there is clearly a framework for it).

I find the open hand/closed fist metaphor (and its various permutations, like Byron Hawk’s here) to be worth further investigation.  This is not surprising, I suppose, given my earlier interest in metaphor, my exposure to theories of the body & critical theory via Pruchnic, and my (limited) work with Marback, whose own essay on Corbett-Browne inspired some of own use of that debate.

Just flitting thoughts.  In closing, my own remix of Dylan iconography:

its my first foray into such things.

Pardon the crap photo-edit job: it's my first foray into such things.

Leave a Reply

