music meme

A music meme I came to by randomly following links at other blogs.

  • Below are first lines from 25 songs, obtained by putting the iPod on “shuffle.” If you know the song, leave a comment and I’ll strike through it on the post (if I get around to it). If you care to play along on your blog, see instructions at the bottom of the post.
  1. Old friends, old friends, sat on their park bench like bookends.
  2. Can’t stop, can’t stop! Won’t stop, won’t stop, won’t stop the beat! and GO!
  3. I was working for a time in a five-and-dime; the boss was Mr. McGee.
  4. Sunlight opened up my eyes to see for the first time.
  5. Joanie, don’t you worry; there is so much you have yet to see.
  6. Speak to me with our sweet voice. (Matthew Sweet, “Your Sweet Voice”)
  7. Is this the real life?  Is this just fantasy? (Queen, “Bohemian Rhapsody”)
  8. Well, every highway I go down seems to be longer than the last one I knew about–oh well.
  9. Stop! In the name of love, before you break my heart. (Diana Ross & the Supremes, “Stop! In the name of Love”)
  10. The red lights mean you’re leaving; the white ones mean we’re turning.
  11. I feel so bad, I’ve got a worried mind; I feel so lonesome all the time. (Roy Orbison, “Blue Bayou”)
  12. You’ve got me girl on the runaround, runaround, got me all around town.
  13. The old home town looks the same as I step down from the train.
  14. Give me one more chance–you’ll be satisfied. (U2, “Even Better than the Real Thing”)
  15. Oh, the thoughts of Mary Jane: why she flies, or goes out in the rain.
  16. Over and over and over again, we say that we’re just friends.
  17. Love of mine, someday you will die, but I’ll be close behind.
  18. Receiving department: 3 A.M.  Staff cuts have sucked up the overage. (REM, “Daysleeper”)
  19. I’ve seen love go by my door, it’s never been this close before.
  20. I can hear them calling way from Oregon.
  21. There’s a crack up in the ceiling, and the kitchen sink is leaking.
  22. Soldier, your eyes: they shine like the sun.
  23. Clouds so swift the rain’s pouring in; we’re gonna see a movie called Gunga Din.
  24. You’ll have a tea with Graham Greene, in the colored costume of your choice.
  25. You broke my heart cause I couldn’t dance; you didn’t even want me around.
  • Step 1: Put your MP3 player or whatever on random.
  • Step 2: Post the first line from the first 25 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
  • Step 3: Post and let everyone you know guess what song and artist the lines come from.
  • Step 4: Strike through when someone gets them right.
  • Step 5: Looking them up on Google or any other search engine is ch-ch-cheating.

I don’t know if anyone’s gonna put up their own lists, but I’d like to see Kim’s, Clay’s, Jenny’s, and Jeff’s.

2 Responses to “music meme”

  1. Mike Says:

    6. Matthew Sweet, Your Sweet Voice
    7. Queen, Bohemian Rhapsody
    11. Roy Orbison, Blue Bayou
    9. Diana Ross & The Supremes, Stop! In the Name of Love (not too difficult, that one)
    14. U2, Even Better than the Real Thing
    18. REM, Daysleeper

  2. randy Says:

    1. Simon and Garfunkle “Old Friends/Bookends”
    23. Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, You ain’t going nowhere, from the “I’m not There” soundtrack.


Leave a Reply

