the professor from porlock

An aborted attempt to write my Doyle response as an homage to Coleridge’s “Kubla Khan.”  No, I don’t know why.  It seemed like a good idea at the time, but it was taking too long.

With humblest apologies to S. T. Coleridge

In Wetwares did Richard Doyle
A new subjectivity decree:
Where bodies freeze to not despoil
Enraptured by the mortal coil
Well into eternity.
The pleasures of the flesh persist
In the freezing cold cryonic tryst:
Subjects wait, suspended, neither now nor then;
Ignorant of time and its contingency;
Hoping to wake, alive, renewed again,
In Two Thousand Ninety-three.

One Response to “the professor from porlock”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    Cryogenics…I don’t know.

    My brain can barely deal with the speed and intensity of THIS century/age, if I awake in a hundred years time, I’d be like a Cro-Magnon among enhanced geniuses who will likely employ me cleaning their toilets.

    The Singularity will have to happen without my participation, I’m afraid…


Leave a Reply

