potential sources for rsa presentation

  • Baumlin, James S. and Tita French Baumlin, eds.  Ethos: New Essays in Rhetorical and Critical Theory.  Dallas: Southern Methodist UP, 1994.
  • Gamson, Joshua.  Claims to Fame: Celebrity in Contemporary America.  U of Cali P, 1994.
  • Giles, David.  Illusions of Immortality: A Psychology of Fame and Celebrity.  New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2000.
  • Gritten, David.  Fame: Stripping Celebrity Bare.  London: Allen Lane, 2002.
  • Fowles, Jib.  Starstruck: Celebrity Performers and the American Public.  Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1992.
  • Hyde, Michael J., ed.  The Ethos of Rhetoric.  Studies in Rhetoric/Communication.  Columbia, SC: U of South Carolina P, 2004.
  • Rojek, Chris.  Celebrity.  Focus on Contemporary Issues.  London: Reaktion Books, 2001.
  • Young, Richard E. and Yameng Liu, eds.  Landmark Essays on Rhetorical Invention in Writing.  Landmark Essays.  Davis, CA: Hermagoras Press, 1994.
  • Zoonen, Liesbet van.  Entertaining the Citizen: When Politics and Popular Culture Converge.  Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2005.

Some brief comments:  I’ve also got a list of articles I have to track down, but at prsent I just wanted to record these books in case I have to turn them back in without getting to them.

My hopes are high for getting in to the RSA 2008 conference, but I don’t want to count those chicken just yet.  Still, as I begin to think toward my m.a. project–now in it’s barest bones stage (i.e., I’ve decided to do it)–I figure I could use this as  a potential direction for that project too.  Or the metaphor thing.  Or something about dictionaries/lexica/etc.  Or Lennon.  Or . . . I dunno.

Leave a Reply

